Dharma online: Mingyur Rinpoche will offer a meditation workshop on the “Three Life Skills”

- through Henry Oudin

Published on

Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche. From Facebook.com

The Tergar Meditation Community, founded by revered Dharma teacher and master of the Karma Kagyu and Nyingma lineages of Tibetan Buddhism Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche, has announced that Mingyur Rinpoche will lead an online meditation workshop starting March 30 on the theme “Three life skills”.

“Meditation is so much more than just focusing on breathing,” Tergar said in an announcement shared with BDG. “In this half-day meditation workshop with renowned meditation expert Mingyur Rinpoche, discover how meditation can develop three lifelong skills for greater peace: being present, being kind, and being curious. Whether at home, school or work, these skills can be applied anytime and anywhere to bring greater joy, well-being and resilience in the face of life's ups and downs .

The half-day workshop will examine the essence of meditation and explore how to be present without worrying about the past or future, how to accept yourself and others with kindness, and how to develop wisdom by cultivating curiosity about the nature of reality.

“Thousands of people around the world have found Mingyur Rinpoche’s meditation teachings simple but transformative,” Tergar observed. “Take advantage of the unique opportunity to receive practical advice on applying three life skills anytime, anywhere. Train with other students from around the world and participate in small discussion groups. (Tergar)

Mingyur Rinpoche's meditation workshop "Three Life Skills" will be held in English, with interpretation in Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish, and broadcast live at the following times:

Auckland: 3 a.m., Sunday March 31
Canberra: 1 a.m., Sunday March 31
Seoul, Tokyo: 23 p.m., Saturday March 30
Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taipei: 22 p.m., Saturday March 30
Bangkok, Jakarta: 21 p.m., Saturday March 30
New Delhi: 19:30 p.m., Saturday March 30
Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Stockholm: 15 p.m., Saturday March 30
London: 14 p.m., Saturday March 30
Montreal, New York: 10 p.m., Saturday March 30
Los Angeles, Vancouver: 7 p.m., Saturday March 30

Click here for full details and to register

Mingyur Rinpoche, founder of the Tergar Meditation Community, which has centers and practice groups around the world, is a renowned teacher and best-selling author whose books include: The joy of living: discovering the secret and the science of happiness (2007); Joyful Wisdom: Embracing Change and Finding Freedom (2009); And Turning Confusion into Clarity: A Guide to the Fundamental Practices of Tibetan Buddhism (2014)

Born in 1975 in the Himalayan border region between Tibet and Nepal, Mingyur Rinpoche received extensive training in the meditative and philosophical traditions of Tibetan Buddhism from his father, Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche (1920-1996), considered one of the greatest modern masters of Dzogchen, then at Sherab Ling Monastery in northern India. After only two years, at the age of 13, Mingyur Rinpoche entered a three-year meditation retreat, then completed a second one immediately after, as a retreat master. At 23, Rinpoche received full monastic ordination.

Mingyur Rinpoche undertook a solitary four-year wandering retreat through the Himalayas from 2011 to 2015. Recounting how he came to terms with the realities of his ambition to practice as a wandering yogi, Rinpoche revealed that he faced many personal and spiritual challenges, including, at one point, his own mortality. Rinpoche described the years he spent wandering the Himalayas as "one of the best times of my life".*

Meditation is really very simple. All we have to do is accept each experience with awareness and fully open our hearts to the present moment. When we are completely comfortable with our own being, waves of consciousness naturally spread in all directions, touching the lives of everyone we encounter. — Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche

* Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche returns from a four-year wilderness retreat (BDG) and Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche posts a video offering insight into his retreat (BDG)

photo of author

Henry Oudin

Henry Oudin is a Buddhist scholar, spiritual adventurer and journalist. He is a passionate seeker of the depths of Buddhist wisdom, and travels regularly to learn more about Buddhism and spiritual cultures. By sharing his knowledge and life experiences on Buddhist News, Henry hopes to inspire others to embrace more spiritual and mindful ways of living.

Leave comments